Euskal Kazeta

Basque Events

Top Basque events in the U.S.
The calendar is updated continually as information becomes available. To have your event listed, e-mail Euskal Kazeta at euskalkazeta@gmail.com.




Saturday Aug. 10
Gardnerville Basque Festival
Minden, Nevada

Friday, Aug. 9, 8:30 p.m.
JP & Manuela Etchechury and Jean Flesher will be playing for JT Basque Restaurant
Saturday
11 a.m. Meza (mass) Celebrated by Fr. Antton Egiguren & Klika
1 p.m. Bazkari (lunch) – BBQ lamb, chicken, lamb stew, beans, salad, cheese, ice cream & wine – $25 per adult & $10 per child under 12.
3 p.m. Dantzaritaldiak (Dance group) from Mendiko Euskaldun Cluba followed by the Kantaldia (Singing Festival)
5 p.m. Haurren Jokaldi (children’s games)
6 p.m. Txorizo sandwiches
8 p.m. Dantzaldi (dance); Music by Jean Pierre & Manuela Etchechury & Jean Flesher
11:30 p.m. Baratxuri Salda (garlic soup)
Minden City Park
Esmeralda and 6th Street

Friday, Aug. 16
20th Annual Basque Museum Winefest
Boise, Idaho

Basque Block
600 block of Grove Street

Saturday, August 24 & Sunday, August 25
Euskal Etxeko Jaialdia
South San Francisco, Calif.

Guest appearances from Basque Country singer Michel Etcheverry.
Saturday evening – steak dinner.
Dance follows the dinner.
Sunday
10 a.m. mass
12:00 – Rack of lamb lunch
3:30 p.m. Pilota competition
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Sunday, Sept. 1
Chino Basque Festival
Chino, Calif.

10 a.m. Mass
Noon – Chicken and Lamb barbecue
3:30 p.m. Dance performances
6 p.m. Lamb dinner
8 p.m. Music with Ibarla Taldea
Chino Fairgrounds
5410 Edison Ave.

Monday, Sept. 2
Basque Breakfast
Chino, Calif.

Centro Basco
13432 Central Ave.

Sunday, Sept. 8
Marin-Sonoma Basque Festival
Penngrove, Calif.

Penngrove Community Park
11800 Main St.

Wednesday Oct. 9 – Sunday, Oct. 13
Trailing of the Sheep Festival
Hailey, Idaho

This annual festival that honors the traditions of sheepherding
always includes Basque dancing and music,
plus a celebration of other sheep traditions shared by Basque sheepherders in Idaho.

Saturday, Oct. 12
Iparreko Ibarra 14th Annual Besta
Lincoln, Calif.

Tickets available at the door. For more information, call (916) 952-2511
65 McBean Park Dr., Lincoln (take a right on Hwy 193)

Saturday, Nov. 2
Mortzilla Dinner and Bazaar
Basque Center
Boise, Idaho

5:15 p.m. – first seating for mortzilla (blood sausage) dinner
6:30 p.m. – second seating
$15 for adults; $6 for children

Saturday, Dec. 21
Sheepherders Ball
Boise, Idaho

Basque Center
601 Grove St.

Monday, Dec. 31
New Year’s Eve Gala
South San Francisco, Calif.

Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday and Sunday, Feb. 15 & 16, 2020
37th Anniversary Weekend Celebration
South San Francisco, Calif.

Handball games with players from the Basque Country
Saturday: barbecue steak dinner; Sunday lunch: rack of lamb lunch.
See weekend schedule here.
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, Feb. 22, 2020
72nd Annual Ontario Basque Dinner Dance
Ontario, Oregon

Four Rivers Cultural Center
676 SW 5th Ave.

Sunday, April 5, 2020
Palm Sunday Mass and Lunch
San Francisco and South San Francisco, Calif.

9:00 a.m. Mass at Notre Dame des Victoires Church, with the Elgarrekin Choir and Klika, followed by hot chocolate and croissants at Notre Dame Church hall
566 Bush St. in San Francisco
Pilota, Lunch and Easter activities to follow at the Cultural Center
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, May 2, 2020
43rd Annual Fresno Basque Festival
Madera, Calif.

Parade, folk dancing, klika, lamb barbecue, chorizo sandwiches.
9 a.m. Gates open; 11 a.m. mass; 1 – 3 p.m. barbecue
Evening dance with Amerikanuak
Rancho Vista del Rio
6440 N. Golden State Blvd., Madera 93722
Followed on Sunday with Basque Breakfast
Santa Fe Restaurant
3110 N. Maroa Ave., Fresno

Sunday, May 17, 2020
Los Banos Picnic
Los Banos, Calif.

Los Banos Fairgrounds
4th and F Streets

Saturday May 23 & Sunday, May 24, 2020
Kern County Basque Festival
Bakersfield, Calif.

For the full picnic schedule, click here.
Kern County Basque Club
2301 S. Union Ave.


Monday May 25, 2020
Basque breakfast
Bakersfield, Calif.

8 a.m. through the afternoon
Woolgrowers Restaurant
620 East 19th St.

Sunday, June 7, 2020
San Francisco Basque Picnic
Petaluma, Calif.

Petaluma Fairgrounds
175 Fairgrounds Dr.


Saturday and Sunday, June 13 and 14, 2020
Winnemucca Basque Festival
Winnemucca, Nev.

July 3 – 5, 2020
National Basque Festival
Elko, Nev.

Friday – 6 p.m. Kickoff on the Ormaza Block, across from the Star Hotel includes live music and dancing.
Saturday – 11 a.m. Parade in downtown Elko, followed by festivities at the Basque Clubhouse, which include dancing, weightlifting, paella and chorizo. In the evening, 9 p.m. to 12:30 a.m., dancing with Melodikoa.
Sunday – 11 a.m. Mass, followed by weight-lifting, wood chopping, dance and irrintzi competitions.

Saturday July 18, 2020
Reno Basque Festival
Reno, Nevada
Wingfield Park
300 W 1st St.

Sunday, July 19, 2020
36th Annual Gooding Basque Picnic
Gooding, Idaho

Gooding Basque Center

Tuesday, July 28 – Sunday, August 2, 2020
Jaialdi
Boise, Idaho

It’s not too early to start planning your trip to the ultimate U.S. Basque festival. It only happens once every five years.
Check their website for more info. Jaialdi.com

Saturday Aug. 3
Mountain Home’s 57th annual Basque Picnic
Mountain Home, Idaho

Basque Park, next to Bengoechea Hotel

 

 

 

Basque News.
Basque Events