Basque News.

Euskal Kazeta

Basque Events

Top Basque events in the U.S.
The calendar is updated continually as information becomes available. To have your event listed, e-mail Euskal Kazeta at euskalkazeta@gmail.com.

Sunday, April 2
Preview of “The Guernica Project” concert
Berkeley, Calif.

3 p.m.
Maybeck Studio for the Performing Arts
1537 Euclid Ave.
For our article, click here.
For tickets, click here.



Friday, April 7
Basque Film Series
South San Francisco, Calif.

7:30 p.m. Gernika
Admission is free
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, April 8
World Premiere of “The Guernica Project” Concert
San Francisco, Calif.

7:30 p.m.
Noe Valley Ministry
1021 Sanchez St.
For our article, click here.
For tickets, click here.

Sunday, April 9
Palm Sunday Mass and Lunch
San Francisco and South San Francisco, Calif.

9:00 a.m. Mass at Notre Dame des Victoires Church, with the Elgarrekin Choir and Klika, followed by hot chocolate and croissants at Notre Dame Church hall
566 Bush St. in San Francisco
Pilota, Lunch and Easter activities to follow at the Cultural Center
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, April 16
Annual Aberri Eguna celebration
New York City

Join the New York Basque Club in its annual celebration of the Basque National Day
1 p.m. The bar will serve a large variety of pintxos/tapas until 2:30 pm.
3 p.m. Dinner
Adult full-day (includes bar, pintxos and dinner) members $70/non-members $75
Adult half-day (includes bar and pintxos until 2:30 p.m. but not dinner) members/non members: $50
For information, call Itziar Albisu (201)214-9649 or email mitzalg@gmail.com. Deadline for reservations is April 6.
New York Basque Club
307 Eckford St.

Saturday, April 23
Udaberri Jaia – Springtime celebration
Norcross, Georgia

3-5 p.m. Basque sausages, side dishes, Basque cheeses and desserts
Join the first celebration sponsored by the
new Atlanta Basque Club.
Pickneyville Park
4758 S. Old Peachtree Rd.

Saturday, May 20
Txitxiburduntzi Celebration
Suffield, Conn.

Noon – New England Basque Club members and friends are invited to participate in the club’s Txitxiburduntzi Celebration
It will include exhibitions of Basque rural sports, including aizkolaris (wood-chopping), sokatira (tug of war), txingaruten (weight carrying), txokor batzen (corn cob pick-up) and harrijasoketa (weight lifting).
The meal will consist of: roasted pig, chicken, hamburgers, hot dogs, salads and side dishes, and desserts
Riki Lasa’s farm, 426 South Grand St.

Sunday, May 21
Los Banos Picnic
Los Banos, Calif.

Los Banos Fairgrounds
4th and F Streets

Saturday May 27
Kern County Basque Festival
Bakersfield, Calif.

Kern County Basque Club
2301 S. Union Ave.

Sunday May 28
Kern County Basque Festival
Bakersfield, Calif.

Kern County Basque Club
2301 S. Union Ave.

Monday May 29
Basque breakfast
Bakersfield, Calif.

8 a.m. through the afternoon
Woolgrowers Restaurant
620 East 19th St.
8 a.m. through the afternoon

Sunday, June 4
San Francisco Basque Picnic
Petaluma, Calif.

Petaluma Fairgrounds
175 Fairgrounds Dr.

Saturday July 15
Reno Basque Festival
Reno, Nevada

10 a.m. – 10 p.m. Wingfield Park
300 W 1st St.

July 28-30
San Inazio Festival
Boise, Idaho
The San Inazio Festival is an annual event to honor St. Ignatius of Loyola, the patron saint of the Basques. It began more than 25 years ago and now thousands come to the Basque Block at the end of every July to see local musician and dancers as well as Basque sporting events.
Basque Block
601 W Grove St.

Saturday August 5
Mountain Home’s 57th annual Basque Picnic
Mountain Home, Idaho

Basque Park, next to Bengoechea Hotel

Saturday August 12
Gardnerville Basque Festival and Kantari Eguna
Minden, Nevada

Minden City Park
Esmeralda and 6th Street

Friday, August 18
19th Annual Basque Museum Winefest
Boise, Idaho

Basque Block
600 block of Grove Street

Saturday, August 26 & Sunday, August 27
Euskal Etxeko Jaialdia
South San Francisco, Calif.

Sunday, Sept. 3
Chino Basque Festival
Chino, Calif.

Chino Fairgrounds
5410 Edison Ave.

Monday, Sept. 4
Basque Breakfast
Chino, Calif.

Centro Basco
13432 Central Ave.

Sunday, Sept. 10
Marin-Sonoma Basque Festival
Penngrove, Calif.

Penngrove Community Park
11800 Main St.

Wednesday Oct. 4 – Sunday, Oct. 8
Trailing of the Sheep Festival
Hailey, Idaho

This annual festival that honors the traditions of sheepherding always includes Basque dancing and music,
plus a celebration of other sheep traditions shared by Basque sheepherders in Idaho.

Saturday, Oct. 7
Iparreko Ibarra 13th Annual Besta
Lincoln, Calif.

Sunday, Dec. 10
Eguberri Besta – Christmas Celebration
South San Francisco, Calif.

Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, Dec. 16
Sheepherders Ball
Boise, Idaho

Basque Center
601 Grove St.

Sunday, Dec. 31
New Year’s Eve Gala
South San Francisco, Calif.

Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday and Sunday, Feb. 17 & 18, 2018
36th Anniversary Weekend Celebration
South San Francisco, Calif.

Handball games, barbecue steak dinner, rack of lamb lunch.
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, Feb. 25, 2018
70th Annual Ontario Basque Dinner Dance
Ontario, Oregon
Four Rivers Cultural Center
676 SW 5th Ave.

Saturday, March 4, 2018
Kantari Afaria
Boise, Idaho

Annual fund-raiser for the Biotzetik Basque Choir.
Basque Center
601 Grove St.

Basque News.
Basque Events