Events – Basque Calendar

The calendar is updated continually as information becomes available. To have your event listed, e-mail Euskal Kazeta at euskalkazeta@gmail.com. You can also send your newsletter or information to Euskal Kazeta, 1812 Linden Ave., Venice, CA 90291.

For mus tournaments, see our article about mus here.

Sunday, April 30
Basque Museum-sponsored NABO Mus Tournament
Boise, Idaho

9 a.m. Registration 10 a.m. Cost for members is $20 ($50 for non-members and includes membership to the Museum). If you aren’t a mus player, feel free to stop by the Basque Center and check out the competition!

Thursday, May 5
First Thursday Celebration
Boise, Idaho

5:30 – 8:30 p.m. Free admission, music, beer tasting and fun at the Basque Museum
611 Grove St.

Friday, May 6
Basque Film Series: Pelota II
South San Francisco, Calif.

7 p.m. The Basque Educational Organization will host a meet and greet reception with director Olatz González Abrisketa before the screening.
Admission is free.
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.



Saturday, May 7
Fresno Basque Festival
Madera, Calif.

9 a.m. to evening
11 a.m. Mass, followed by lamb barbecue
Evening Dance with Jean Flesher Band
Borba’s Rancho Vista del Rio
6440 N. Golden State Hwy.

Sunday, May 8
Basque Breakfast
Fresno, Calif.

Santa Fe Restaurant
3110 N. Maroa Ave.

Saturday, May 14
Iparreko Ibarra – Rocklin NABO Mus Tournament & Lunch
Lincoln, Calif.

Saturday, May 14
2016 Txitxiburduntzi Celebration
Suffield, Conn.

Noon – New England Basque Club members and friends are invited to participate in the club’s Txitxiburduntzi Celebration
It will include exhibitions of Basque rural sports, including aizkolaris (wood-chopping), sokatira (tug of war), txingaruten (weight carrying), txokor batzen (corn cob pick-up) and harrijasoketa (weight lifting).
The meal will consist of: roasted pig, chicken, hamburgers, hot dogs, salads and side dishes, and desserts
Riki Lasa’s farm, 426 South Grand St.

Sunday, May 15
Los Banos Picnic
Los Banos, Calif.

10 a.m. Mass
Lunch 12:30 – 2 p.m. Luncheon
Afternoon — performances by dancers, klika and bertsolariak. Soka tira and weight carrying contests.
Los Banos Fairgrounds
4th and F Streets


Saturday, May 21
Txirrindulari Bike Ride
Napa, Calif.

Ride to be hosted by Espen and Bernadette Petoteguy Jensen
For more information, call Leon Sorhondo at (415) 285-0748 or irisarrtara@yahoo.com

Saturday, May 21
Fried Chicken Dinner
City of Industry, Calif.

La Puente Handball Club
15858 E. Amar Rd.

Saturday and Sunday, May 28 & 29
Kern County Basque Festival
Bakersfield, Calif.

Kern County Basque Club
2301 S. Union Ave.

Sunday, June 5
San Francisco Basque Picnic
Petaluma, Calif.

9 a.m. Gates open
9:45 a.m. Procession followed by mass with Father Lastiri
Noon – rack of lamb lunch
2:45 p.m. Afternoon entertainment including Zazpiak Bat folk dance groups, klika and Los Banos dancers
5 p.m. Txorizos for sale
Petaluma Fairgrounds
175 Fairgrounds Dr.

Saturday June 11
NABO Mus Finals
Rocklin, Calif.

Barbecue dinner and celebration

Wednesday, June 29 – Monday, July 4, and Thursday, July 7 – Sunday, July 10
Smithsonian Folklife Festival
Washington D.C.

Be part of the most amazing national street festival in the country, which will be highlighting Basque culture.

Friday July 1 – Sunday July 3
Elko National Basque Festival
Elko, Nevada

Saturday July 2 – Sunday, July 3
NABO Summer Convention
Chino, Calif.

Sponsored by the Southern California Basque Club

July 10 – 22
2016 Udaleku Summer Camp
Salt Lake City, Utah

Saturday July 16
Reno Basque Festival
Reno, Nevada

10 a.m. – 10 p.m. Wingfield Park
300 W 1st St.

Saturday August 6
Mountain Home’s 56th annual Basque Picnic
Mountain Home, Idaho

Basque Park, next to Bengoechea Hotel
Oinkari Dancers will perform

Saturday August 13 (updated 2-17)
Gardnerville Basque Festival and Kantari Eguna
Minden, Nevada

Minden City Park
Esmeralda and 6th Street

Monday August 15
Big Horn Basque Club Festival
Buffalo, Wyoming

Friday, August 26 & Saturday, August 27
BCC Udaskeneko Besta Weekend
South San Francisco, Calif.

Anniversary weekend celebration will include the NABO Pilota Finals
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Sunday, Sept. 4
Chino Basque Festival
Chino, Calif.

Chino Fairgrounds
5410 Edison Ave.

Monday, Sept. 5
Basque Breakfast
Chino, Calif.

Centro Basco
13432 Central Ave.

Sunday Sept. 11
Marin-Sonoma Basque Festival
Penngrove, Calif.

Penngrove Community Park
11800 Main St.

Saturday, Oct. 8
Iparreko Ibarra – Rocklin Besta
Lincoln, Calif.

Sunday October 9
Las Vegas Basque Club Picnic
Blue Mountain, Nevada

Saturday, Nov. 5
Mortzillak Dinner, Bazaar and Bingo
Boise, Idaho

Basque Center
601 Grove St.

Sunday, Dec. 10
Eguberri Besta – Christmas Celebration
South San Francisco, Calif.

Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, Dec. 17
Sheepherders Ball
Boise, Idaho

Saturday, Dec. 31
New Year’s Eve Gala
South San Francisco, Calif.

Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday and Sunday, Feb. 11 & 12, 2017
Anniversary Weekend Celebration
South San Francisco, Calif.

Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, February 25, 2017
70th annual Ontario Basque Dinner Dance
Ontario, Oregon

Read our story on the history of the event
6 p.m. Traditional Basque dinner
Four Rivers Cultural Center
676 SW 5th Ave.

Saturday, March 4, 2017
Kantari Afaria
Boise, Idaho

Annual fund-raiser for the Biotzetik Basque Choir.
Dinner by Chef Jesus Alcelay and a special performance by the choir.
Basque Center
601 Grove St.

Sunday, April 9, 2017
Palm Sunday Mass and Lunch
San Francisco and South San Francisco, Calif.

9:00 a.m. Mass at Notre Dame des Victoires Church, with the Elgarrekin Choir and Klika, followed by hot chocolate and croissants at Notre Dame Church hall
566 Bush St. in San Francisco
Pilota, Lunch and Easter activities to follow at the Cultural Center
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.