Basque News.

Basque Events

Top Basque events in the U.S.
The calendar is updated continually as information becomes available. To have your event listed, e-mail Euskal Kazeta at euskalkazeta@gmail.com.

Saturday and Sunday, Feb. 17 & 18
35th Anniversary Weekend Celebration
South San Francisco, Calif.

Saturday
Featuring Joko Garbi Players from Ustaritz an Eskus Pilota players from Euskadi
7 p.m. Barbecue Steak Dinner and Dancing with Ketxo band
Sunday
9:30 Croissants and Hot Chocolate
10 a.m. Mass
1 p.m. Rack of Lamb Lunch
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.



Saturday, February 25
70th annual Ontario Basque Dinner Dance
Ontario, Oregon

Read our story on the history of the event
6 p.m. Traditional Basque dinner
Four Rivers Cultural Center
676 SW 5th Ave.

Saturday, March 4
Kantari Afaria
Boise, Idaho

Annual fund-raiser for the Biotzetik Basque Choir.
Dinner by Chef Jesus Alcelay and a special performance by the choir.
Basque Center
601 Grove St.
Boise

Sunday, March 5
The Thoughtful Feast: Boarding House Supper
Redondo Beach, Calif.

Supper in a California Basque Boarding House
at this unique spot by the water.
Leg of Lamb, Braised Chicken, Hand Cut Fries and more traditional boardinghouse fare
First Seating: 5 p.m.
Second Seating: 7:30 p.m.
Basq Kitchen
136 North International Boardwalk
Redondo Beach 90277

Sunday, April 9, 2017
Palm Sunday Mass and Lunch
San Francisco and South San Francisco, Calif.

9:00 a.m. Mass at Notre Dame des Victoires Church, with the Elgarrekin Choir and Klika, followed by hot chocolate and croissants at Notre Dame Church hall
566 Bush St. in San Francisco
Pilota, Lunch and Easter activities to follow at the Cultural Center
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Sunday, May 21, 2017
Los Banos Picnic
Los Banos, Calif.

Los Banos Fairgrounds
4th and F Streets

Saturday, May 20, 2017
Txitxiburduntzi Celebration
Suffield, Conn.

Noon – New England Basque Club members and friends are invited to participate in the club’s Txitxiburduntzi Celebration
It will include exhibitions of Basque rural sports, including aizkolaris (wood-chopping), sokatira (tug of war), txingaruten (weight carrying), txokor batzen (corn cob pick-up) and harrijasoketa (weight lifting).
The meal will consist of: roasted pig, chicken, hamburgers, hot dogs, salads and side dishes, and desserts
Riki Lasa’s farm, 426 South Grand St.

Saturday May 27, 2017
Kern County Basque Festival
Bakersfield, Calif.

Kern County Basque Club
2301 S. Union Ave.

Sunday May 28, 2017
Kern County Basque Festival
Bakersfield, Calif.

Kern County Basque Club
2301 S. Union Ave.

Monday May 29, 2017
Basque breakfast
Bakersfield, Calif.

8 a.m. through the afternoon
Woolgrowers Restaurant
620 East 19th St.
8 a.m. through the afternoon

Sunday, June 4, 2017
San Francisco Basque Picnic
Petaluma, Calif.

Petaluma Fairgrounds
175 Fairgrounds Dr.

Saturday July 15, 2017
Reno Basque Festival
Reno, Nevada

10 a.m. – 10 p.m. Wingfield Park
300 W 1st St.

July 28-30, 2017
San Inazio Festival
Boise, Idaho
The San Inazio Festival is an annual event to honor St. Ignatius of Loyola, the patron saint of the Basques. It began more than 25 years ago and now thousands come to the Basque Block at the end of every July to see local musician and dancers as well as Basque sporting events.
Basque Block
601 W Grove St.

Saturday August 5, 2017
Mountain Home’s 57th annual Basque Picnic
Mountain Home, Idaho

Basque Park, next to Bengoechea Hotel

Saturday August 12, 2017
Gardnerville Basque Festival and Kantari Eguna
Minden, Nevada

Minden City Park
Esmeralda and 6th Street

Friday, August 18, 2017
19th Annual Basque Museum Winefest
Boise, Idaho

Basque Block
600 block of Grove Street

Saturday, August 26 & Sunday, August 27, 2017
Euskal Etxeko Jaialdia
South San Francisco, Calif.

Sunday, Sept. 3, 2017
Chino Basque Festival
Chino, Calif.

Chino Fairgrounds
5410 Edison Ave.

Monday, Sept. 4, 2017
Basque Breakfast
Chino, Calif.

Centro Basco
13432 Central Ave.

Sunday, Sept. 10, 2017
Marin-Sonoma Basque Festival
Penngrove, Calif.

Penngrove Community Park
11800 Main St.

Wednesday Oct. 4 – Sunday, Oct. 8, 2017
Trailing of the Sheep Festival
Hailey, Idaho

This annual festival that honors the traditions of sheepherding always includes Basque dancing and music,
plus a celebration of other sheep traditions shared by Basque sheepherders in Idaho.

Saturday, Oct. 7, 2017
Iparreko Ibarra 13th Annual Besta
Lincoln, Calif.

Sunday, Dec. 10, 2017
Eguberri Besta – Christmas Celebration
South San Francisco, Calif.

Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, Dec. 16, 2017
Sheepherders Ball
Boise, Idaho

Basque Center
601 Grove St.

Sunday, Dec. 31, 2017
New Year’s Eve Gala
South San Francisco, Calif.

Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Basque News.
Basque Events