Euskal Kazeta

Basque Events

Top Basque events in the U.S.
The calendar is updated continually as information becomes available. To have your event listed, e-mail Euskal Kazeta at euskalkazeta@gmail.com.

July 8 – 21
Udaleku – Basque Culture Camp
Reno, Nev.

Friday, July 20
Reno Festival Kick-off with Errebal
Reno, Nev.

St. John Presbyterian Church
1070 W. Plumb Lane
7 p.m. Final Performance of Udaleku campers

Saturday July 21
Reno Basque Festival
Reno, Nevada

Wingfield Park
300 W 1st St.
9:30 a.m. Mass
10:30 a.m. – 5 p.m. Folk dancing performances including performances by Udaleku campers, weightlifting and woodchopping exhibitions
7 p.m. – 12 a.m. Evening Dance with Errebal
Hard Water House
7689 S. Virginia St.

July 27-29
San Inazio Festival
Boise, Idaho
The San Inazio Festival is an annual event to honor St. Ignatius of Loyola, the patron saint of the Basques. It began more than 25 years ago and now thousands come to the Basque Block at the end of every July to see local musicians and dancers as well as Basque sporting events.
Basque Block
601 W Grove St.

Saturday August 4
Mountain Home’s 57th annual Basque Picnic
Mountain Home, Idaho

Basque Park, next to Bengoechea Hotel

Saturday August 11
Gardnerville Basque Festival
Minden, Nevada

Special Guest: Zaria Koru Eskola
Minden City Park
Esmeralda and 6th Street

Friday, August 17
20th Annual Basque Museum Winefest
Boise, Idaho

Basque Block
600 block of Grove Street

Saturday, August 25 & Sunday, August 26
Euskal Etxeko Jaialdia
South San Francisco, Calif.

Saturday evening – steak dinner. Reservations required= contact: info@SFBCC.us
Dance follows the dinner.
Sunday
10 a.m. mass
12:00 – Rack of lamb lunch
3:30 p.m. Pilota competition
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Sunday, Sept. 1
Chino Basque Festival
Chino, Calif.

Chino Fairgrounds
5410 Edison Ave.

Monday, Sept. 2
Basque Breakfast
Chino, Calif.

Centro Basco
13432 Central Ave.

Saturday, Sept. 8
Santa Rosa Basque Festival
Paradise Valley, Nev.

Sunday, Sept. 9
Marin-Sonoma Basque Festival
Penngrove, Calif.

Penngrove Community Park
11800 Main St.

Wednesday Oct. 5 – Sunday, Oct. 9
Trailing of the Sheep Festival
Hailey, Idaho

This annual festival that honors the traditions of sheepherding
always includes Basque dancing and music,
plus a celebration of other sheep traditions shared by Basque sheepherders in Idaho.

Saturday, Oct. 13
Iparreko Ibarra 14th Annual Besta
Lincoln, Calif.

Tickets available at the door. For more information, call (916) 952-2511
65 McBean Park Dr., Lincoln (take a right on Hwy 193)

Saturday, Nov. 3
Mortzilla Dinner and Bazaar
Basque Center
Boise, Idaho

5:15 p.m. – first seating for mortzilla (blood sausage) dinner
6:30 p.m. – second seating
$15 for adults; $6 for children

Sunday, Dec. 9
Eguberri Besta – Christmas Celebration
South San Francisco, Calif.

Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, Dec. 15
Sheepherders Ball
Boise, Idaho

Basque Center
601 Grove St.

Monday, Dec. 31
New Year’s Eve Gala
South San Francisco, Calif.

Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday and Sunday, Feb. 16 & 17, 2019
37th Anniversary Weekend Celebration
South San Francisco, Calif.

Handball games, barbecue steak dinner, rack of lamb lunch.
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, Feb. 23, 2019
71th Annual Ontario Basque Dinner Dance
Ontario, Oregon

Four Rivers Cultural Center
676 SW 5th Ave.

Saturday, March 2, 2019
Kantari Afaria
Boise, Idaho

Annual fund-raiser for the Biotzetik Basque Choir.
Basque Center
601 Grove St.

Sunday, April 14, 2019
Palm Sunday Mass and Lunch
San Francisco and South San Francisco, Calif.

9:00 a.m. Mass at Notre Dame des Victoires Church, with the Elgarrekin Choir and Klika, followed by hot chocolate and croissants at Notre Dame Church hall
566 Bush St. in San Francisco
Pilota, Lunch and Easter activities to follow at the Cultural Center
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, May 4, 2019
42nd Annual Fresno Basque Festival
Madera, Calif.

Parade, folk dancing, klika, lamb barbecue, chorizo sandwiches.
9 a.m. Gates open; 11 a.m. mass; 1 – 3 p.m. barbecue
Evening dance with Amerikanuak
Rancho Vista del Rio
6440 N. Golden State Blvd., Madera 93722
Followed on Sunday with Basque Breakfast
Santa Fe Restaurant
3110 N. Maroa Ave., Fresno

Sunday, May 19, 2019
Los Banos Picnic
Los Banos, Calif.

Los Banos Fairgrounds
4th and F Streets

Saturday May 25 & Sunday, May 26, 2019
Kern County Basque Festival
Bakersfield, Calif.

For the full picnic schedule, click here.
Kern County Basque Club
2301 S. Union Ave.


Monday May 27, 2019
Basque breakfast
Bakersfield, Calif.

8 a.m. through the afternoon
Woolgrowers Restaurant
620 East 19th St.

Sunday, June 2, 2019
San Francisco Basque Picnic
Petaluma, Calif.

Petaluma Fairgrounds
175 Fairgrounds Dr.


Saturday and Sunday, June 8 and 9, 2019
Winnemucca Basque Festival
Winnemucca, Nev.

Sunday, July 14, 2019
36th Annual Gooding Basque Picnic
Gooding, Idaho

Gooding Basque Center

Basque News.
Basque Events