Basque News.

Euskal Kazeta

Basque Events

Top Basque events in the U.S.
The calendar is updated continually as information becomes available. To have your event listed, e-mail Euskal Kazeta at euskalkazeta@gmail.com.

Linda Iriart
Chino Basque Club dancers at Chino Basque Festival 2016.

Saturday, Oct. 28
Basque Cultural Day
South San Francisco, Calif.

The theme of this year’s event is Basque Mythology and Spirituality.
Speakers, dinner and evening concert with
Basque Country singing group Aire Ahizpak
1 p.m. Speakers – Admission is free
7 p.m. Dinner with Ardi Beltza dance performance and Aire Ahizpak concert
For more details, call Nicole Sorhondo at (415) 285-0748



Monday, Oct. 30
Documentary: Elgarrekin – Together
South San Francisco, Calif. and Boise, Idaho

Click here for the trailer
In South San Francisco
7:30 p.m. Free admission
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.
In Boise
6 p.m.
Basque Center
601 W. Grove St.

Tuesday, Oct. 31 – Friday, Nov. 3
Preparation of mortzillas for dinner
Boise, Idaho

Monday meet from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Fiddlers Green Farm, 14440 Broken Horn Rd, Boise, ID 83714
Tuesday to Friday, preparation takes place during the day at
the Basque Center, 601 W. Grove St.
For more info, click this calendar link or contact Sean Aucutt at (208) 371-3090

Saturday, Nov. 4
Mortzilla Dinner and Bazaar
Basque Center
Boise, Idaho

5:15 p.m. – first seating for mortzilla (blood sausage) dinner
6:30 p.m. – second seating
$15 for adults; $6 for children

Sunday, Dec. 10
Eguberri Besta – Christmas Celebration
South San Francisco, Calif.

Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, Dec. 16
Sheepherders Ball
Boise, Idaho

Basque Center
601 Grove St.

Sunday, Dec. 31
New Year’s Eve Gala
South San Francisco, Calif.

Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday and Sunday, Feb. 17 & 18, 2018
36th Anniversary Weekend Celebration
South San Francisco, Calif.

Handball games, barbecue steak dinner, rack of lamb lunch.
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, Feb. 25, 2018
70th Annual Ontario Basque Dinner Dance
Ontario, Oregon
Four Rivers Cultural Center
676 SW 5th Ave.

Saturday, March 4, 2018
Kantari Afaria
Boise, Idaho

Annual fund-raiser for the Biotzetik Basque Choir.
Basque Center
601 Grove St.

Sunday, March 25, 2018
Palm Sunday Mass and Lunch
San Francisco and South San Francisco, Calif.

9:00 a.m. Mass at Notre Dame des Victoires Church, with the Elgarrekin Choir and Klika, followed by hot chocolate and croissants at Notre Dame Church hall
566 Bush St. in San Francisco
Pilota, Lunch and Easter activities to follow at the Cultural Center
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Friday, May 18 – Sunday, May 20, 2018
32nd annual Living Traditions Festival
Salt Lake City, Utah

Washington Square and Library Square
450 South 200 East

Sunday, May 20, 2018
Los Banos Picnic
Los Banos, Calif.

Los Banos Fairgrounds
4th and F Streets

Saturday May 26 & Sunday, May 27, 2018
Kern County Basque Festival
Bakersfield, Calif.

For the picnic schedule, click here.
Kern County Basque Club
2301 S. Union Ave.

Monday May 28, 2018
Basque breakfast
Bakersfield, Calif.

8 a.m. through the afternoon
Woolgrowers Restaurant
620 East 19th St.

Sunday, June 3, 2018
San Francisco Basque Picnic
Petaluma, Calif.

Petaluma Fairgrounds
175 Fairgrounds Dr.

Saturday and Sunday, June 9 and 10, 2018
Winnemucca Basque Festival
Winnemucca, Nev.

Sunday, June 24, 2018
Sheepman’s Picnic
Bakersfield, Calif.

Kern County Basque Club
2301 South Union Avenue
Bakersfield, California

Friday, June 29 – Sunday, July 1, 2018
54th National Basque Festival
Elko, Nevada

Elko Basque Clubhouse
1601 Flagview Dr.

Saturday July 14, 2018
Reno Basque Festival
Reno, Nevada

10 a.m. – 10 p.m. Wingfield Park
300 W 1st St.

Sunday, July 15, 2018
36th Annual Gooding Basque Picnic
Gooding, Idaho

Gooding Basque Center

July 27-29, 2018
San Inazio Festival
Boise, Idaho
The San Inazio Festival is an annual event to honor St. Ignatius of Loyola, the patron saint of the Basques. It began more than 25 years ago and now thousands come to the Basque Block at the end of every July to see local musicians and dancers as well as Basque sporting events.
Basque Block
601 W Grove St.

Saturday August 4, 2018
Mountain Home’s 57th annual Basque Picnic
Mountain Home, Idaho

Basque Park, next to Bengoechea Hotel

Saturday August 11, 2018
Gardnerville Basque Festival
Minden, Nevada

Special Guest: Zaria Koru Eskola
Minden City Park
Esmeralda and 6th Street

Friday, August 17, 2018
20th Annual Basque Museum Winefest
Boise, Idaho

Basque Block
600 block of Grove Street

Saturday, August 25 & Sunday, August 26
Euskal Etxeko Jaialdia
South San Francisco, Calif.

Saturday evening – steak dinner. Reservations required= contact: info@SFBCC.us
Dance follows the dinner.
Sunday
10 a.m. mass
12:00 – Rack of lamb lunch
3:30 p.m. Pilota competition
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Sunday, Sept. 1, 2018
Chino Basque Festival
Chino, Calif.

Chino Fairgrounds
5410 Edison Ave.

Monday, Sept. 2, 2018
Basque Breakfast
Chino, Calif.

Centro Basco
13432 Central Ave.

Saturday, Sept. 8, 2018
Santa Rosa Basque Festival
Paradise Valley, Nev.

Sunday, Sept. 9, 2018
Marin-Sonoma Basque Festival
Penngrove, Calif.

Penngrove Community Park
11800 Main St.

Wednesday Oct. 5 – Sunday, Oct. 9, 2018
Trailing of the Sheep Festival
Hailey, Idaho

This annual festival that honors the traditions of sheepherding
always includes Basque dancing and music,
plus a celebration of other sheep traditions shared by Basque sheepherders in Idaho.

Saturday, Oct. 13
Iparreko Ibarra 14th Annual Besta
Lincoln, Calif.

Tickets available at the door. For more information, call (916) 952-2511
65 McBean Park Dr., Lincoln (take a right on Hwy 193)

Basque News.
Basque Events